Why the Internet is pretty awesome.

For most people, mornings go something like this:

1. Wake up.
2. Check email.
3. Check Facebook.
4. Get out of bed.

For most people who write blogs, mornings go something like this:

1. Wake up.
2. Check blog stats.
3. Check email.
4. Check blog stats.
5. Check Facebook
6. Check blog stats
7. Refresh page
8. Refresh page one more time.
9. Realize it’s not going to change.
10. Get out of bed.

So imagine my surprise when I checked my stats first thing this morning and saw THIS:

20120422-235249.jpg

I checked the top referring site… and low and behold it was Reddit. I love you, Reddit.

And my friend Shyal. Who posted it under athiesm. Athiesm on Reddit has 600k+ subscribers and the rest, as they say, is history. The link stayed on the 1st/2nd page for quite a while.

Granted, the traffic was ALL for my last post which was a transcript I wrote for Dr. Tyson’s video. But blog stats are blog stats. I know it wasn’t really my work they were coming to my blog for but it was still my blog they were visiting. It’s like having a really hot friend and telling everyone she’s going to be there when you throw a house party. You know they’re coming to your house for her. but whatever. It’s your house. You’re cool by association.

So I did what I assume most people would do when something like this happens. Sat in front of my computer for the next 3 hours and hit refresh every second and saw the views jump up to 500 views at a time. EVERY SECOND! And let me tell you. It was amazing, guys. It was like being on a high I never wanted to end.

As I type this, it’s still going pretty strong (16,000+ views!!!) but it’s plateaued a bit. My favorite part of blog stats has always been the location section which tells you which countries your visitors are from. Today’s list? Is so unbelievably long. And I can’t correctly pronounce more than half of it.

I’ve always thought the Internet was a pretty cool place… but today, somehow, I felt closer to it all. It’s really humbling that something you type up sitting on the floor of your apartment in Korea could be seen and read by so many people all around the world. Even if it is someone else’s words. Even if all you did was type it up.

In Dr. Tyson’s words: Think About That. It’s not like I’m here and they’re out there. We’re all connected, always. As much as we want to be. We’re able to share thoughts, ideas, a little part of our world and everything in between. In real time. And, that, is pretty awesome.

10 Comments to “Why the Internet is pretty awesome.”

  1. Wow, that’s really cool! I love seeing blog stats when they jump.The new country list thing is so much fun – have you gotten anyone from Antarctica yet?

  2. I must admit that checking stats is something I definitely do before I get out of bed in the morning. Haha, it’s something only people with blogs will understand. And holy cow, 16K + views! That’s crazy! I had a similar feeling of refreshing my stats page and seeing stats jump through the roof about several weeks ago, when I had something promoted to Freshly Pressed.

  3. how fun to see high stats! may I ask what Reddit is?

    • Hi Lexi, Reddit is a website that brands itself as “the front page of the internet” Here’s Wiki’s definition:

      Reddit (stylized as reddit; pronounced /ˈrɛdɪt/)[3] is a social news website where the registered users submit content, in the form of either a link or a text “self” post. Other users then vote the submission “up” or “down,” which is used to rank the post and determine its position on the site’s pages and front page.

      Basically, if something is on Reddit and trending on the 1st/2nd page of their various categories, it’s going to get a lot of hits.

  4. You described me perfectly here lol! I have not come across Reddit before – I shall definitely try it now! :)

Leave a Reply

